Obstacles

I was going through my saved web pages, and I noticed that I’ve been working on something for the past 2 years, and due to fear, procrastination, and being a slight perfectionist, it has taken 2 years to develop, and that’s not counting testing, nor launching. This was a huge obstacle, and I was not happy where it had left me.

What sucks about these obstacles is that they are self-imposed. No one is forcing you to be that way. You choose to do so. You have to change the way you look at things in order to stop these obstacles from building.

Here are some things I tell myself to help combat these obstacles:

When it comes to perfectionism, know when to stop. It helps me when I complete a task, push it aside for the next day, or sometimes a few days, and then I come back and assess the situation with a clear mind. Most times, our emotions affect our decision and it creates frustration. We don’t need that.

When it comes to procrastination, having a to-do list, or an accountability partner helps immensely. Rosetta Thurman of HappyBlackWoman has a great article on how to just start, which you can read here. She also taught me that I don’t need to have all my “ducks in a row” to get started on a project. I think that was THE best thing I have ever heard, and it helped a lot. Whenever I feel myself slipping into over-thinking about anything, I remember what was said, and I just do it.

When it comes to fear, this has been the hardest one, for it feels like, whenever I deal with one aspect of fear, another one comes along to psyche me out. So this is what I do: I ask myself, Why am I afraid? And I keep asking until I get to the root of my fear or until I have broken down the cause of the fear. Then I ask myself, what’s so bad about this fear coming to pass? And once, I continue until I get an answer. Usually by the time I get to the core of the answer, whatever it is I feared seemed so small in comparison to the end result. At that moment, I am able to pursue the path I started. If the fear persisted, I would keep asking myself, why?, until my mind was clear of doubt.

Of course, prayer is always a helpful factor during these times of obstacles, and for those whose path don’t align with prayer, may I suggest meditation, positive thinking, yoga, exercise, anything to release that blockage? but, as it is written, God helps those who helps themselves. So, I vow to keep pushing, and to make sure that I do not stop, for I know that success is waiting for me on the other side of the wall. Along with God, I just need to continue to break through it.

2 thoughts on “Obstacles

  1. I loved reading this post, Nancy. It sounds like you’re definitely making a lot of progress on overcoming obstacles to reach your goals. I’m happy we got the chance to work together and excited to see all the good things that are in store for you!

Leave a Reply

